Foul blows the ref doesn't see

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Foul blows the ref doesn't see

Score them or not?
If the ref deosn't call it, it's not technically a foul and it's done damage but do you reward cheating?
I have to admit my approach is less than 100% consistent. Thoughts?

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

I don’t dock a fighter if the ref doesn’t, same with not negating a Knockdown call made by a ref, or scoring a knockdown when the ref didn’t.

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

No limits? Low blows, rabbit punches, elbows, headbutts; all in?

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

That's sport for you pal, it's not always fair, but it goes down how the referee calls it. The answer is, what they've started doing in some US states, and that's giving the referee the chance to watch the replay and reconsider, Pennsylvania was the first state I saw allow it, that was for Gvozdyk vs Beterbiev, it's sometimes hard to tell if a knock down is legitimate, if a shot is low etc, but there are times when the referee made an obvious error, and the error is potenitally crucial to the outcome, Whyte vs Parker is a good example, the fight would have been a draw if the rest of the fight had been the same and the referee had the chance to watch the replay and reconsider, because it wasn't a tough call.

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

Fair play - I do score them but it can also be a little mood dependent on how strict I am, espcially if the fight is overly dirty and unpoliced.
Agree on the fix but only for massive decisions, like what happened to Andrew Moloney (missed opportunity). I don't think it would work in a Lomachenko Salido type situation because it would make the fight too stop start (as football is finding out) and also suck a little of the atmosphere out (the crowd are less likely to cheer a spontaneous highlight if there is a chance it will be rescinded in a minute).

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

I remember Wladimir Klitschko's head-buts used on Tyson Fury during a clinch that the ref ignored/didn't see. Fury even glanced at him briefly to see if he noticed, but continued fighting anyway. A lot of boxers would've complained. And he still beat him while pulling up his shorts half the time lol

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

and Fury was the one who lost a point :-) Conceicao Valdez is a similar, more recent example

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

Shots behind the back of the head have to be taken seriously, but Klitschko should have lost a point if anything, it wasn't Fury's fault he turned his back.

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

Agree. And Valdez's punch to the back of Conceicao's head was much worse than the one he retaliated to.
Not heard anyone else say it but I thought the second time Wilder knocked Fury down on Saturday looked like a punch to the back of the head as well. Interested to hear what you thought of that one?

Re: Foul blows the ref doesn't see

It was definitely behind the ear, it's hard to see clearly, but Fury was still hurt from the first shot, the last shot knocked him over, but Fury was already on unsteady legs, I think he let himself go down, took his time to get up, which was very smart, but I think a knock down was the right call.