Ken Buchanan vs. Roberto Duran
CONTROVERSY RATING: N/A
The percentage of fan cards that disagree with an official result. Exclusively on EYE ON THE RING.
Monday, June 26, 1972
Titles at Stake:
Undefeated Roberto Duran wins his first title in highly controversial fashion when he stops WBA Lightweight Champion Ken Buchanan. Storming the champion from the outset, Duran scores a first-round knockdown when he lands a right hand to Buchanan's shoulder, knocking him onto his gloves, and then rocks Buchanan into a corner with another right in the second round. Duran hurts Buchanan again in the fifth and knocks his mouthpiece out. Well ahead on points heading into the thirteenth round, Duran knocks Buchanan between the ropes momentarily, prompting the champion to throw a punch at him after the bell. Duran responds with a low blow, and Buchanan falls onto his knees. Although Buchanan is able to get up, he goes down again, and Referee Johnny LoBianco determines that the champion cannot continue. He controversially stops the bout, despite protest from Buchanan to proceed, awarding Duran the title on a technical knockout.