Jerwin Ancajas vs Jamie Conlan
Irish super flyweight warrior Jamie Conlan challenges IBF world champion, Jerwin Ancajas, in Belfast, in front of a crowd who are very much, with motivation, in support of thier countryman, a test in itself, for the Philippino champion.
Ancajas is the aggressor in round one, he is patient, but lets the shots go with intent and purpose when he commits, offensively. It seems as if Ancajas is edging the fight, when, mysteriously, Conlan winces in agony, ans falls to the canvas, not having taken any particularly hurtful punches, but this isn't the full extent of his issues, as blood streams from a nasty gash on his left eyebrow. Ancajas has some good success at the end of 1. Conlan starts well in round 2, landing some shots, but it is not long before Ancajas retains his ring superiority, fires lethal shots to the body, some land low, but most are clean, hurtful punches.
Conlan lands a couple of great counter shots in round 3, early, recieving recognition from the crowd, but not hurting the champion, and Ancajas turns it around, he hurts Conlan to the body, unleashes an onslaught, dropping Conlan for the second time in the fight, somehow, Conlan sees out the round. Round 4 is very similar to round 3, Conlan goes down, just makes the count, but he is hit low, and gets a rest as Ancajas is warned, helping him to get through the remainder of the round.
Ancajas seems to be struggling just slightly for pace, having put a lot into the first 12 minutes of the fight, but round 5 doesn't seem like a better session for the challenger when it gets going, with Ancajas, able to take his foot off the gas, and Conlan, unable to make him pay. Ancajas dominates the last half of round 5, but if dropped witn a lowblow, having taken some clean body shots, having already been warned more than once, Ancajas is deducted of a point.
Ancajas starts positively in round 6, he hurts Conlan again, and drops him, but with an illegal shot, which the refree does not realise, and when a dejected, drawn Conlan gets up, but doesn't seem in a position to fight on (perhaps expecting the referee to acknowledge that he had been hit to the back of the head, in the commotion, possibly forgetting to process in his mind, the fact that the referee had counted, after he had fallen), and the referee stops the fight, meaning a very dominant and in control, Jerwin Ancajas retains his title via technical knockout.