Ken Buchanan vs. Roberto Duran

Enter your Ken Buchanan vs. Roberto Duran fan card
CONTROVERSY RATING: N/A
The percentage of fan cards that disagree with an official result. Exclusively on EYE ON THE RING.
Ken Buchanan vs. Roberto Duran
Fan Rating: 
0
Your rating: None
3.5
Average: 3.5 (2 votes)

Date: 
Monday, June 26, 1972
Location: 
New York, NY
Rounds Scheduled: 
15
Contracted Weight: 
135
Titles at Stake: 
WBA Lightweight Championship
Referee: 
Johnny LoBianco

More:



Undefeated Roberto Duran wins his first title in highly controversial fashion when he stops WBA Lightweight Champion Ken Buchanan. Storming the champion from the outset, Duran scores a first-round knockdown when he lands a right hand to Buchanan's shoulder, knocking him onto his gloves, and then rocks Buchanan into a corner with another right in the second round. Duran hurts Buchanan again in the fifth and knocks his mouthpiece out. Well ahead on points heading into the thirteenth round, Duran knocks Buchanan between the ropes momentarily, prompting the champion to throw a punch at him after the bell. Duran responds with a low blow, and Buchanan falls onto his knees. Although Buchanan is able to get up, he goes down again, and Referee Johnny LoBianco determines that the champion cannot continue. He controversially stops the bout, despite protest from Buchanan to proceed, awarding Duran the title on a technical knockout.




Fan Cards: Ken Buchanan vs. Roberto Duran


scorecard by BOXING KNOWLEDGE
Round
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Total
KEN BUCHANAN
ROBERTO DURAN


scorecard by RORSCHACH
Round
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Total
KEN BUCHANAN
8
9
10
10
9
10
9
9
10
10
9
9
9
121
ROBERTO DURAN
10
10
9
9
10
9
10
10
9
9
10
10
10
125


scorecard by ACERBITAS
Round
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Total
KEN BUCHANAN
9
9
9
9
9
9
10
9
10
10
9
9
9
120
ROBERTO DURAN
10
10
10
10
10
10
9
10
9
9
10
10
10
127


scorecard by COREY WILLINGER
Round
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Total
KEN BUCHANAN
8
9
10
9
9
9
9
9
10
10
9
9
9
119
ROBERTO DURAN
10
10
9
10
10
10
10
10
9
9
10
10
10
127


Comments

Acerbitas's picture

Robert "The Ballbuster" Duran.

rorschach's picture
rorschach's picture

I cannot believe the ref awarded the championship of the world to Duran for not only a low blow, but a low blow after the bell. That's like a super-duper DQ, but apparently that kinda nonsense wins you the Lightweight Championship of the World back in 1972.