Sat, 2015-05-23 18:25
Although Dirrell held good balance, good defense and beautiful clean counters...it wasn't just enough.
DeGale style isn't very dominant and he tends to be sloppy and not very accurate, but he swings away with good power when he barges in...even if he gets caught with a punch in the process.
DeGale let too many rounds go by not being active by the mid-late rounds, but he got the job done by the end.
Decent fight...interesting to score.
Sun, 2015-05-24 09:22
Why are your scorecards so weird? I mean Albertocostany has 9 to 8 scoring in round 2 [?!], Champion97 has it 10:6?
Sun, 2015-05-24 09:54
I thought Dirrell won the round despite the knockdowns.
Sun, 2015-05-24 11:37
No offence, but You must be trolling mate ;)
First LOL - he absolutely didn't win the round, no freaking way.
Second LOL - if fighter who is knocked down ONCE wins the round besides this knockdown, he loses round 10:9 instead of losing it 10:8, that's all. You don't score it e.g. 9:9, it's basic knowledge. For me it's clear 10:7 round, you can argue about 10:8 only because it was maybe somewhat arguable 2nd knockdown and Dirrell was doing ok till these knockdowns, but you CAN'T score it 9:8 ;) Well, actually you can, but you're wrong on many levels and no professional judge would ever score this round like this. Cheers ;)
Wed, 2016-04-06 13:45
Let's just keep things civil shall we?
Mon, 2015-05-25 02:37
It's just really weird to me how the fighter who was knocked down HARD, rocked multiple times and then knocked down for the second time in the same round, can win this round. I mean, what else can you do to win the round? :D Maybe Marquez won the first round of the first fight against Pacquiao? :D He even landed more punches in that round ;)
And as for scoring 9:8 it's a clear mistake, it just doesn't work like that. I've explained this - if figher gets knocked down he can make the round 9:10 instead of 8:10 if he dominates the rest of the round. You DON'T just take points away thinking - ok X won 10:9, but he was knocked down, so -1 point for X equals 9:9. No. It would be 9:10 for Y instead of 8:10. Difference is substantial.
These are the rules. I'm sorry if I offended someone, I didn't mean to. English is not my native language and maybe I lack some vocabulary and intuition about what is proper to say.
Sun, 2015-05-24 13:42
1, Dirrell out worked Degale through the whole round and dominated the entire round but the last seconds. I must remind you that despite the knockdown, Dirrell clipped DeGale so well he even cut him.
2. A boxer wins the rounds by dominating his opponent. Usually a knockdown translates into a round victory for the standing boxer. However, the only significant punch by DeGale was at the end. And still...that punch didn't really hurt Dirrell. 2nd knockdown was more of a push than an actual knockdown, and Dirrell was visibly well. Still a knockdown
Therefore...Dirrell wins the round.... 10-9...but since DeGale score 2 knockdowns...8-9.
Mon, 2015-05-25 02:13
It's just wrong scoring, there is no such score as 9:8 in this case, that's all. You can create your own rules if you want as you did, I'm just pointing this out. This is not how you score the fight according to official rules, end of story :)
Tue, 2015-05-26 20:14
I've switched my Scorecard. I decided to take a look to the current scoring rules by the ABC. At the end of the day, it is called "10 must point system". However, the exact rules to how you score the fight indicates the losing fighter is scored "proportionally less". There are only guidelines regarding how the judge can score the round under different scenarios
Having said that, I could have kept my arguement regarding Dirrell winning the round despite the knockdowns..and score the round 10-9 in favor of DeGale. This time I will just go with the flow and score it 10-7
About Us | Contact | Feedback | Site Map | Score the Controversial Fights
Any use or distribution of our content without the express written consent of eyeonthering.com is strictly prohibited.
Copyright © 2019, EYE ON THE RING