Hideyuki Ohashi vs Ricardo Lopez
Ricardo Lopez (26-0) 20 KOs vs. Hideyuki Ohashi (14-3) 8 KOs This was Lopez's first world title fight and only the second time that he had fought professionally outside his native Mexico. Ohashi down in Round 4 from a jab followed by a straight right hand. He was up almost immediately and received a mandatory eight-count. Ohashi down in Round 5 from a right hook. He remained on one knee until the count of six and again received a standing eight-count. A combination jab, straight right, left hook sent Ohashi down for the third time in the fight. He did make it to his feet at the count of seven, but staggered, fell back into the corner. At that, the referee waved an end to the bout. Two judges gave all 4 completed rounds to Lopez, while the other have the champion one round before he was stopped.